Behold! The Liebster!


hooray!

hooray!

Thanks to the venerable Ann Koplow I have been nominated and have received the Liebster blog award, the one award I have coveted the most due to it’s german name.  Liebster apparently means “sweetheart.”  I have many “sweet hearts”, harvested from inattentive sweethearts whom I lured into my alley, so I fully understand why I was deigned to receive this award, though I’m surprised Ann found out about my heart collection…

Anyway, I’d like to take a moment to muse over blog awards.  What a great idea.  I think blog awards are great, because they give the common man an opportunity to understand how celebrities feel when they win awards, and to understand the very nature of almost every award ever.

They’re worthless.  Utterly, utterly worthless.  They have no material value whatsoever.  You can’t sell one.  You might be able to buy one, but they probably wont generate any sort of income, alcohol or ice cream ,useful things all, but that’s not the point.  The point is that someone liked you enough to give you one, and that’s why I like awards.  They didn’t need to give you one (except in the case of blog awards where they have to give several somebodies the same award lest theirs becomes invalidated), but they did anyway.

Awards are valueless, but within this valuelessness we find their value, and so I would like to say thank you.

Thanks, you.

Thanks, you.

Anyway, as with every blog award, I gotta answer some questions now.

  1. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Pistachio, especially when it’s gelatto.  My favorite used to be orphan tears, but they’ve run out of stock at the grocers of late.
  2. If you were to write the story of your life, what might be the title? Explosions and Dinosaurs.
  3. What’s a nickname you’ve had or one that you would give yourself? Skeeter.
  4. What was your favorite book, when you were a kid? Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.
  5. If they made a movie of your life, what actor would you choose to play you? Zach Galifinakis or Simon Pegg.
  6. What’s your fantasy job? Being a Wizard.  Dream Job?  Screenwriter/book writer.
  7. Who is your favorite musician? Iron maiden.
  8. Who is somebody you admire? Rob McElhenney and Glenn Howerton, for making it’s always sunny in Philadelphia.
  9. What’s your favorite movie? Monty Python and the Holy Grail.
  10. What’s a song you’d choose for your “theme song”? Bark at the Moon – Ozzy Osbourne
  11. If you could be any animal for a day, what would you be (and why)? An alpacapillar, for obvious reasons.

alpacapillar

Bother.  I guess I have to list 11 facts now about myself.

  1. My teeth have been hurting.  I guess I have to go to a dentist here in London.  Should be exciting.  And expensive.  Le sigh.
  2. I’m 1/6th done with my first screenplay ever.  I should have it finished in a few weeks.  It’s about aliens.
  3. I enjoy the cold, but I do miss the oppressive heat of florida
  4. I much prefer walking to driving, and walking will probably be one of the things I miss the most about London.
  5. I quite like Regina Spektor.  She’s definitely worth a listen if you havent already given her one.
  6. I love toast with butter and jam.
  7. I have a trench coat, but I’m sometimes afraid I look like a flasher when I wear it.
  8. I have retractable fangs.  It’s weird.
  9. Once I battled a robot for 3 days and 3 nights.  We ended up becoming friends at the end.  I guess that just goes to show you something, I’m just not sure what.
  10. I hadn’t properly watched all of Psycho until last weekend.
  11. I have a Gandalf pipe.

So now I have to come up with 11 questions for my nominees…

Choose your answers wisely…

  1. Coffee or Tea?
  2. Book or Movie?
  3. Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter?
  4. Which disney movie villain are you?
  5. What’s your favorite Candy?
  6. Best book you’ve recently read?
  7. What’s something that you’ve learned recently?
  8. How did you get interested in writing?
  9. What music do you like?
  10. Are you an introvert or an extrovert or a bothvert or a neithervert?
  11. Would you consider yourself weird?

So now here are my nominees, who have to answer the above questions:

  1. Creative Writing with the Crimson League
  2. brian
  3. little.old.me
  4. kerry’s organized chaos

I’ll add more as I come across them.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. CONGRATS! And if the award prods and pokes and eggs you on, it’s more valuable than anything! I too enjoy walking. I fantasize about never getting in a car again! 🙂

    Reply
    • thecorngoblin

       /  March 12, 2013

      yeah driving takes so much more concentration. I much prefer walking down to mark’s and spencer’s thank driving over to wal-mart or what have you. And thanks!

      Reply
  2. I love this post! Thanks so much.

    Reply
    • thecorngoblin

       /  March 12, 2013

      I should be the one thanking you. So I will. Thanks again.

      Reply
  3. Continued success – thanks for the follow

    Reply
  4. high five and raspberries

     /  March 15, 2013

    Haiku is not everyones ” cup of tea ” so thanks for visiting !

    Reply
  5. lisabrock

     /  March 15, 2013

    just read this out loud to Daddy and we say, “Well Done…..well done, sir!”

    Reply
  6. Thanks for liking my blog! I love your tone and style! Keep up the good work!

    Reply

Leave a comment